About us

Northwest Coalition Mission

We are a Coalition of Schools and Colleges of Nursing in the Northwest United States committed to advancing the health of older adults through excellence in nursing education. Informed by research, we seek to develop and nurture the best educational methods to foster excellent nurse clinicians, researchers, and teachers who are dedicated to the health and welfare of older adults.


News and Events

NW Coalition of Geriatric Nursing Education Annual Meeting
June 19, 2009
Linfield College School of Nursing, Portland, OR
For information contact soncgne@ohsu.edu.


Current Activities

Current work is focused on the development of this website and other resources to assist school of nursing faculty to teach content on geriatric nursing.


Partner Schools

Boise State University

Concordia University

George Fox University

Gonzaga University

Idaho State University

Linfield College

Montana State University

Oregon Health & Science University

Pacific Lutheran University

Seattle Pacific University

Seattle University

University of Alaska Anchorage

University of Portland

University of Washington, Bothell

University of Washington, Seattle

Walla Walla University

Washington State University, Spokane

Washington State University, Vancouver


Steering Committee 2009-2010

Casey Shillam, Chair

University of Portland

shillam@up.edu

Karen Feldt , Immediate Past Chair

Seattle University

feldtk@seattleu.edu

Carla Hagan, Chair Elect

George Fox University

chagen@georgefox.edu

Beverly Hewitt, next Chair Elect

Idaho State University

ashtcaro@isu.edu

Jean Ballantyne

University of Alaska Anchorage

afjeb@uaa.alaska.edu

Barbara Cochrane

University of Washington, Seattle

barbc@u.washington.edu

Mary Sue Gorski

Gonzaga University

gorski@gonzaga.edu

Renee Hoeksel

Washington State University, Vancouver

hoeksel@vancouver.wsu.edu

Lois Miller

Oregon Health & Science University

millerlo@ohsu.edu

Terry Miller

Pacific Lutheran University

millertw@plu.edu

Carol Redfield

Seattle Pacific University

carlsr@spu.edu

Penny Roberts

Oregon Health & Science University

robertpe@ohsu.edu

Suzanne Sikma

University of Washington, Bothell

ssikma@u.washington.edu

Karen Tetz

Walla Walla College

Karen.Tetz@WallaWalla.edu


Communications Committee 2009-2010

Heidi Petry, Chair

University of Washington, Bothell

Hpetry@uwb.edu

Barbara Cheyney

Seattle Pacific University

cheynb@spu.edu

Glenise McKenzie

Oregon Health & Science University-Ashland

mckenzig@ohsu.edu

Lois Miller

Oregon Health & Science University

millerlo@ohsu.edu

Jeannette O'Brien

Linfield College

jobrien@linfield.edu

Janet Purath

Washington State University, Spokane

jpurath@wsu.edu

Penny Roberts

Oregon Health & Science University

robertpe@ohsu.edu

Diana Taibi

University of Washington, Seattle

dmtaibi@u.washington.edu

Catherine Van Son

Washington State University, Spokane

vansonc@wsu.edu


Education Committee 2009-2010

Catherine Van Son, Chair

Washington State University, Spokane

vansonc@wsu.edu

Basia Belza

University of Washington- Seattle

basiab@u.washington.edu

Bonnie Blachly

University of Washington- Bothell

Bblachly@uwb.edu

Karen Cameron

University of Portland

cameron@up.edu

Susan Casey

Seattle Pacific University

caseys@spu.edu

Jane Hagan

Oregon Health & Science University

haganj@ohsu.edu

Verlene Meyer

Walla Walla College

Verlene.Meyer@WallaWalla.edu

Lois Miller

Oregon Health & Science University

millerlo@ohsu.edu

Darcy Mize

George Fox University

dmize@georgefox.edu

Carla Pentecost

Oregon Health & Science University

pentecoc@ohsu.edu

Penny Roberts

Oregon Health & Science University

robertpe@ohsu.edu

Mindy Schaffner

Pacific Lutheran University

schaffml@plu.edu

Ruth Tadesse

Oregon Health & Science University

tadesser@ohsu.edu

Pam Wheeler

Linfield College

pwheele@linfield.edu


Founding Goals

Education: Foster positive clinical experiences for undergraduate students with older adults.

Research: Prove mentored research experience for undergraduate students.

Community: Value and advocate for informal caregivers.

Society: Devise key messages about nursing as a major contributor to older adult issues.

Faculty Development: Stimulate faculty to integrate about older adults into courses.


History

In July 2002, the Hartford Center of Geriatric Nursing Excellence at Oregon Health & Science University hosted a gathering of seven schools and colleges of nursing in the Northwest to engage in mutual goal setting and to inform academic partners about the Hartford Center and about opportunities for faculty and students.

Participants were enthusiastic and energized by meeting with colleagues committed to geronotological nursing and agreed to continue working together. They developed the mission statement and identified the areas of concern and priorities for future work outlined above.

Since the first meeting, the NW Coalition has expanded to 16 institutions located in five states, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.


Home : Teaching Resources : -Gero CD-Rom : -Topical Activities : -Courses : -Case Studies : -Media : Links : About Us : Contact Us